Faculty

 

Art History Faculty

Heather Diack

Assoc. Professor
Global Contemporary Art; Global Photography

h.diack@miami.edu

(305) 284-2842
Heather Diack is Associate Professor of Art History at the University of Miami where she teaches modern and contemporary art, critical theory, visual culture, and the history of photography. Within these fields, Diack specializes in the history and theory of conceptual art, global contemporary art practices, and American studies with an emphasis...

Joel A. Hollander

Lecturer
Foundations in Art History; Modern Art

j.hollander@miami.edu

(305) 284-5438

Erica Moiah James

Asst. Professor
African, Black & Caribbean Art

emj58@miami.edu

(203) 507-4660

J Tomas Lopez

Professor
History of Photography

tomlopez@miami.edu

(305) 284-2781
Tomas Lopez, is  a Professor of the Department of Art and Art History. Professor Lopez has degrees in Psychology and Philosophy from Fordham University, a Master of Media Arts in Film and Video and a Master of Fine Arts in Photography and Modernist Theory from the University of South Florida. He has been awarded the Florida Individual...

Karen R Mathews

Associate Professor
Ancient, Medieval & Islamic Art

k.mathews1@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542
Karen Rose Mathews is Associate Professor of Art History at the University of Miami where she teaches classes on ancient art, medieval art, Spanish art, and Islamic art. Her research interests address the material culture of the medieval and early modern Mediterranean as well as the use of digital technologies in art historical pedagogy and...

Bonnie Smith Rigg

Lecturer
Foundations in Art History

b.rigg@miami.edu

(305) 284-4246

Nathan James Timpano

Associate Professor
Chair of Department of Art and Art History
18th & 19th-Century Art; Modern Art in Europe & the Americas

ntimpano@miami.edu

(305) 284-4668
Nathan Timpano is currently Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Art & Art History at the University of Miami. His research focuses on the history of modern art & visual culture in Europe and the Americas, with a specialty in German and Austrian modernism. He teaches courses on 19th- & 20th-century European art,...

Alfredo Triff

Lecturer
History of Graphic Design

a.triff@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Studio Faculty

Carlos Llerena Aguirre

Professor

cllerena_aguirre@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542
Carlos Llerena Aguirre Cllerena_aguirre@yahoo.com   Carlos Llerena Aguirre has published woodcuts in international journals, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Tribune, El Comercio, books, magazines, children’s books, and international newspapers. His woodcuts are in the Library of...

Ivan Albreht

Assoc. Professor

ialbreht@miami.edu

(305) 284-4429

Sean Black

Lecturer
Photography

s.black2@umiami.edu

(626) 616-9792

Patricia Lorraine Cooke

Lecturer

plc16@miami.edu

(336) 207-8930

Devin Caserta

Sr. Preparator
& Lecturer

d.caserta@umiami.edu

(305) 284-8551

Robert Andy Coombs

PT Lecturer

rac2045@miami.edu


Xavier Cortada

Professor Prof. Practice

x.cortada@miami.edu

(305) 284-5459

Brian Curtis

Assoc. Professor

b.curtis@miami.edu

(305) 284-3542

Lise R Drost

Professor

l.drost@miami.edu

(305) 284-9415
Lise Drost grew up in Miami and attended Miami Dade Junior College and Florida International University before earning her MFA from Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.  She then did Artist Residencies in Pennsylvania, Oregon and Wyoming before deciding to return to Miami. She taught part time at Florida International...

Jenna Efrein

Senior Lecturer
In Glass

jxe126@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542

James Arthur Herring

Lecturer

jxh1070@miami.edu

(305) 318-8639

Jeff Larson

Senior Lecturer
Photography

j.larson1@miami.edu

(305) 284-4429
Artist Website: jefflarson1.com

Izia Lee Lindsay

Lecturer
Graphic Design

i.lindsay@umiami.edu

(786) 200-0915

Justin Long

Lecturer

jxl2301@miami.edu

(786) 512-4130

J Tomas Lopez

Professor
History of Photography

tomlopez@miami.edu

(305) 284-2781
Tomas Lopez, is  a Professor of the Department of Art and Art History. Professor Lopez has degrees in Psychology and Philosophy from Fordham University, a Master of Media Arts in Film and Video and a Master of Fine Arts in Photography and Modernist Theory from the University of South Florida. He has been awarded the Florida Individual...

Billie G Lynn

Professor

blynn@miami.edu

(305) 284-6975

Lenny Moreno

Lecturer
Graphic Design

lsm104@miami.edu

(786) 301-1161

David James Marsh

Lecturer

d.marsh1@umiami.edu

(305) 284-6955

Claudio Nolasco

Asst. Professor
Digital Photography

cxn477@miami.edu

(305) 284-2369
Artist Website: www.claudionolasco.com/

Gerardo Olhovich

Senior Lecturer
Undergraduate Advisor

g.olhovichperez@umiami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Carlos Enrique Prado

Senior Lecturer
Ceramics

cep41@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542
    Carlos Enrique Prado is currently lecturer at the University of Miami, where he teaches different ceramic courses and the study of the human figure in clay. As an artist, his works are primarily ceramic sculptures with a strong presence of the figure, however, his full body of work also includes sculpture, installations,...

Barbara G. Scheer

Lecturer

b.scheer@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Amy Schissel

Asst. Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

axs3115@miami.edu

Artist Website: www.amyschisselart.com

Courtney Schmidt

PT Lecturer

c.schmidt3@umiami.edu

(305) 284-3764

Nathaniel M Schwartz

Lecturer
Graphic Design Lecturer

nms41@miami.edu

(786) 368-1160

Mohammed Khalil Shanti

PT Lecturer

m.shanti@miami.edu

(305) 284-2922

Lani Marie Shapton

Senior Lecturer

l.shapton@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Lidija Slavkovic

Lecturer

l.slavkovic@miami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Jeannette Stargala

Lecturer

j.stargala@umiami.edu

(305) 338-0823

Erin Thurlow

Lecturer

ext349@miami.edu

(917) 656-5198

Carol Todaro

Lecturer

c.todaro@umiami.edu

(305) 284-2542

Kyle H Trowbridge

Senior Lecturer
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Head of Undergraduate Advising

k.trowbridge@umiami.edu

(305) 284-2542